• img-book

    CJ Sansom

ISBN: 9781447284482


by: CJ Sansom


Meet the Author
British author C. (Christopher) J. (John) Sansom is best known as the author of the phenomenally popular sixteenth-century detective series Shardlake. Dubbed the "Tudor Morse" the Shardlake novels – beginning with Dissolution – trace the progress of lawyer Matthew Shardlake from 1537 as he is drawn into investigating a series of complex cases that bring him ever-closer to the machinations of the Tudor court. C.J. Sansom is also the author of the bestselling novels Winter in Madrid and Dominion.
Books of CJ Sansom
Add to cart
Tombland 2018
About This Book

Shardlake returns in Tombland, the seventh novel in C.J. Sansom’s acclaimed series.

Spring, 1549. Two years after the death of Henry VIII, England is sliding into chaos. The nominal king, Edward VI, is eleven years old. His uncle Edward Seymour, Lord Hertford, rules as Protector, presiding over a collapsing economy, a draining, prolonged war with Scotland and growing discontent amongst the populace as the old religion is systematically wiped out by radical Protestants.

Matthew Shardlake, meanwhile, is a lawyer in the employ of Lady Elizabeth, the old King’s younger daughter. The gruesome murder of Elizabeth’s distant relative Edith Boleyn soon takes him and his assistant Nicholas Overton to Norwich where he is reunited with Overton’s predecessor Jack Barak. As another murder drags the trio into ever-more dangerous waters, Shardlake finds his loyalties tested as Barak throws in his lot with the exploding peasant rebellion and Overton finds himself prisoner in Norwich castle.

Simultaneously, Shardlake discovers that the murder of Boleyn may have connections reaching into both the heart of the rebel camp and of the Norfolk gentry…


ISBN: 9781447284482
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publish Date: 2018
Page Count: 880


There are no reviews yet.